top of page
  • Writer's pictureEliza Phares

Meet Avery




Avery is a senior at the University of Michigan studying Political Science and Environmental Science with hopes of going to law school to study environmental law. She's from Michigan and loves all things nature. Her goal in life is to travel to all of the national parks in the United States. She hopes that she can be the next driving force in combatting climate change.


Matthieu Botanical Gardens Through Avery's Lens



Eliza: Why is the Matthieu Botanical Gardens your favorite place on campus?


Avery: I'm an adventure leadership guide at the Michigan Outdoor Leadership Education Series or MOLES as we call it so I have spent a lot of time training and being trained in the Botanical Gardens. We have a route that we take all the groups on so I feel like I've gotten to know the area pretty well through a bunch of different seasons.


Eliza: Talk to me more about the gardens, how do they make you feel?


Avery: The gardens have been a place where I've been able to grow and explore, but also meet some of my best friends. I have so many memories in them because of the time I have spent at the leadership center. I love taking groups around them on tours but also being part of the greater team bonding aspect that the center offers.


Eliza: Have the gardens changed your relationship with nature?


Avery: I've always loved the outdoors so I think the gardens have only enhanced my relationship. I was the kid who was always outside playing in the dirt and trying to get all my friends to go with me. This attitude has definitely carried on throughout my life and it has made a big impact on my career goals.


Eliza: Most people don't seem to carry the same sense of childlike wonder about nature that you do. How do you think you have been able to keep it?


Avery: Working at the gardens has definitely helped but I think that I just have always connected with nature so deeply. I love beach days, traveling to national parks, and exploring the woods. It's a way for me to decompress and connect with something that I love so much.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Empowering Eco-Feminism

© 2024 by Eliza Phares

Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page